Book Blogger Confessions Tag

  1. Which book – most recently – did you not finish reading?

download (2)There are a couple of books recently that I’ve started but not got round to reading, Uprooted by Naomi Novik, and Odysseus: The Oath by Valerio Massimo Manfredi. I was enjoying both books, however I was reading them fairly slowly and there were other books I was more interested in reading therefore I temporarily put them down, however I do want to go back and finish them at some point.

2. Which book is your guilty pleasure?twilight

It’s hard to pick a guilty pleasure book because I wouldn’t really count any that I read as guilty pleasures, but I think I’ll go with Twilight. Twilight gets a lot of criticism for its writing and how cringey it is, and although I do agree with many aspects, I still really enjoyed it and it was one of the series that got me into YA books so it holds a special place in my heart still.

  3. Which book do you love to hate?

I’m sure there are any books I could put into this category, I find if I don’t like a book I simply don’t like it, there’s no loving involved, and then vice versa, therefore I either love or hate a book but I can’t think of a book to fit the combination.

4. Which book would you throw into the sea?

712H-FrdJoLI could never bring myself to throw any book into the sea the poor thing, but I’m just going to choose a book I didn’t enjoy and for this I’m going to go with Crossed by Allie Condie. I really enjoyed the first book Matched, so I went out and bought the next two books, however about 100 pages in to Crossed and I was bored out of my mind, and couldn’t even force myself to try to carry on, so I got rid of both the books and moved onto better things.

  5. Which book have you read the most?HG4

I don’t tend to re-read books anymore because I have so many new books I want to read, so I don’t have a lot of time to re-read others, however when I was younger I did read the Twilight series and The Hunger Games series multiple times, and when I was even younger I used to read all of Cathy Cassidy’s books over and over, I loved them!

 6. Which book would you hate to receive as a present?

I guess anything I already own I wouldn’t like again, in particular one I didn’t enjoy, but although I wouldn’t need them or particularly want them again, hate is a very strong word. I don’t think there’s any book I’d hate to receive.

    7. Which book could you not live without?

City_of_BonesI’ve read so many amazing books throughout the years, and narrowing it down to one book is incredibly hard, so I’m not. I’m going to choose Cassandra Clare’s books. It was The Mortal Instruments series (after Twilight) that got me into reading YA and was the first book I became obsessed with in the way I’m obsessed with books now, but I can’t just stop at The Mortal Instruments, because then I read The Infernal Devices and it quickly became my favourite series, and then there’s The Dark Artifices which is also amazing. It’s very dramatic to say I couldn’t live without them, but without them I wouldn’t have been introduced to so many other amazing books, so they are certainly very important to me.

8. Which book made you the angriest?18621194._UY200_

I can’t think of a book that made me particularly angry, I suppose Crossed annoyed me slightly because it just wasn’t going anywhere, but I can’t say I got particularly angry. Another book I didn’t like was Half Bad by Sally Green, which I got around the time it came out and I was really excited to read it, however when I did read it I was extremely underwhelmed, I found the plot and characters very underdeveloped and rushed, once again it didn’t make me angry as such, but certainly didn’t make me happy like I’d hoped.

9. Which book made you cry the most?

tumblr_m6yrm3pc0o1r3oy4vo1_500I’ve read a lot of sad books, and cried at a lot of them, and perhaps I just cry too easily, but either away my list is long. Cassandra Clare’s books have been known to make me cry, usually it’s the final book in the series – both City of Heavenly Fire and Clockwork Princess – but Lord of Shadows , the second book in the Dark Artifices series also did. Other books that made me cry include, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Me Before You and The Fault in Our Stars among others.

 10. Which book cover do you hate the most?51Js6G5I9PL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

There are a lot of ugly covers in the world, I’m going to try to narrow it down and choose a cover that I own otherwise I’d be here a while, so I’m going to go with A Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night. I loved this book, it was a wonderful story, but the cover I own just doesn’t excite me, I don’t like the colours, and if it hadn’t been recommended and given to me by my mum I probably never would have picked it up.

Izzy xoxo

Leave a Reply

