June Wrap-Up

This reading year has been a very slow one for me, and up until the end of May I hadn’t read a single book for pleasure. Yes, you read that right, other than the occasional bit here and there for University, I didn’t read anything. As a girl who loves to read, its hurts to think about, not reading for that long is sad, and I missed it dearly, however when the final week of May came, i went off to Cornwall on holiday with my family, and took a book, determined to fit in time to read, and it happened! I’m going to briefly mention the book here because I didn’t technically read it in June, however it got me back into reading this year so it deserves some credit, and this book is : 13 Reason’s Why by Jay Asher. It was a very quick read – a very useful quality for a book when you haven’t read in such a long period – and was such a page-turner. I won’t go into detail, as i mentioned it isn’t part of my June books, however it was incredibly though provoking, and i certainly recommend it.

So, on to the actual point of this post, my June Wrap up. I read 6 books in June, which, for my usual reading pace, I’m impressed with myself for, so here are the books I read in June:

  1. 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough 

I haven’t had this book that long, I bought it on a whim a couple of months ago because it was buy one get one half price at Waterstones and the blurb sounds good, I’d ne

img_4635.jpg

ver heard of it before that day. Because I hadn’t heard about it before and therefore hadn’t heard anyone else’s opinion, I didn’t know what to expect going in to the book – which can be quite a nice thing, you haven’t got other people’s opinion’s effecting your reading of the book.

The story follows a girl who is found nearly dead on the bank of a river, and she doesn’t remember how or why she got there, or in fact of the events of the last two days, so she along with the police – DI Bennett – try to discover what happened to her.

I really enjoyed the book and I read it pretty quickly because of the mystery element it makes it hard to put down. I don’t want to go into too much detail because I don’t want to spoil any of the mystery aspect that surrounds the book, but it was well written, including text messages and diary extracts which made it a lot more interesting to read, and I gave it 3.5/5.

2. Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

It’s going to be hard to have control here and not write a full review, because there is so much I coulIMG_4638d say about this book. It’s hard to give any sort of summary without any spoilers if you haven’t read the first book in the series (Lady Midnight) or any of the other Shadowhunter books by Cassandra Clare, so if you haven’t I highly recommend you read The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices trilogy.

The writing was great as always, and I could not put it down, the story was wonderful as were all the characters, it was full of humour, love an heartbreak, and was definitely 5/5.

3. Cruel Crown

As much as I’ve raved about the previous two books I’ve read this month, I have to say I was underwhelmed with this one. Cruel Crown contains two short stories following on from the Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, and while I thoroughly enjoyed

img_4636.jpgboth of the other books I’ve read, i found myself getting bored by her short stories. They were very short and so I finished them fairly quickly, but I didn’t enjoy them much. I’d say the first – Queen’s Song – was my favourite of the two, however I didn’t have a lot of interest in either of the characters who were the protagonists of the short stories. The book also included the first few chapters of Aveyard’s second book Glass Sword, however I’ve already read that previously. Despite being slightly disappointed by this book, I’m still excited to read the next book, King’s Cage. I give Cruel Crown 2/5.

4. Everything Everything

I won’t go into too much detail about this book as I plan on writing a full review of it very soon, but img_4637.jpgI loved it! I recently got quite interested in contemporary books, and I bought this fairly recently – the same time I bought 13 minutes – so I decided to read it now, since I’ve seen the film has recently been released. The writing style was really interesting – emails and drawings etc – and made it a really quick read, and it was a really cute interesting story. I give it 4.5/5.

5. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

You’re probably thinking, ‘Harry Potter!? How have you never read Harry Potter before!? Call yourself a book fan!?’ and yes I know it sounds outrageous, but I have read

img_4643.jpgmost of them before. When I was very young I read the first 4 or 5, and then i just didn’t finish, and I don’t remember why not, but I thought it was about time I did, so I’ve finally started again. As I’ve read it before and seen the film millions  of times, I read this very quickly.

There probably not much point in me giving a summary of Harry Potter because I’m sure all of you have read it or at least seen the film, but it follow a boy called Harry who is living a relatively ordinary life with his horrible Aunt and Uncle – his parents are dead – until his 11th birthday when he receives a letter from Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and discovers he’s a wizard. If you haven’t read the books I urge that you do immediately, and of course I give it 5/5.

6. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

img_4642.jpgNow I’m sure this one wasn’t too hard to guess, but the final book I read in June was the Chamber of Secrets, to continue my rereading of the Harry Potter books. As with Philosopher’s Stone, I read it very quickly as it was a reread and I know the story like the back of my hand, but I thoroughly enjoyed it and can’t wait to carry on and finish the rest of the series, and of course, 5/5.

Izzy xoxo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑